AIP Elimination Diet – Reintroduction Week 2: Tomatoes

tomato

Into week two of the reintroduction phase, and I was in a good mood as it was looking like wine was not a trigger (although that definitely doesn’t mean I can go back to ‘old ways’ too often…).

On Friday 20th I started on tomatoes, which are known to be a high risk trigger, being a nightshade vegetable. I’d toyed with bringing in eggs or cheese for last week, but tomatoes seemed more versatile – I was getting bored of my root vegetable-based sauces and soups and needed something with a bit of kick. With tomatoes, I could make more soup, use it as a sauce base with some mince, or simply throw a can of tinned tomatoes over some chicken with some herbs and seasoning. I wasn’t too bothered about tomatoes causing a reaction, either. In fact, I think I was inviting it. If I knew tomatoes could be the culprit, then it was news I wanted right now, and the waiting would be over (assuming I didn’t have multiple triggers).

Friday & Saturday, I indulged in some fabulous meat + tomato combinations, which might sound dull to most people but, when you’ve not had such a simple flavour for so long, tomatoes can taste majestic. Ironically, I dislike raw tomatoes, and always pick them out of salads and sandwiches, but cooked tomatoes I just love.

hangover

Come Sunday, and there was no reaction, which was great. But Sunday was also the Liverpool v Man Utd game and, for the first match in months, I could actually have a bevy. And if there’s one fixture guaranteed to make me sink a few, it’s that one. So, despite the result (or maybe, because of the result), I ended up getting slowly sloshed – still only on wine at this point – and fell into bed around eleven (I think). Monday was fine – more tomatoes but definitely no wine – but then Tuesday, I woke up with a small, but painful, blister. It was a previously dormant one, not a brand new one, so somewhere along the way, I’d irritated it with something, although I couldn’t be sure exactly what.

Was it the drowning of sorrows after the match? Although I’d had no reaction during the official Wine Week, I never had more than two glasses on any given night, so Sunday had been my first ‘overindulgence’ in the ten days since I’d been back on it. In hindsight, this could very well have triggered the blister. Ergo: too much alcohol rots the gut super-quickly, letting the toxins through which cause the flare.

The only other explanation would be it was the tomatoes. Three days after reintroducing them, I get a blister. But I just wasn’t sure. So, knowing I had another social engagement the following Saturday, which would require several beverages of some sort, I figured I’d lay off the tomatoes again and see what happened. In the five days since, although the blister is still there, it’s receded a little more each day, and there’s no sign of a flare anywhere else, not even after the Saturday frivolities.

So that makes me think that tomatoes are doing ‘something’ not very nice, although the reaction – if it really was a reaction – was not severe and nowhere near what I was experiencing before. So what does that mean? That tomatoes are best avoided, but that there’s another, more potent trigger out there I am yet to discover? Possibly.

Coming up: Week 3 – Eggs

4 responses to “AIP Elimination Diet – Reintroduction Week 2: Tomatoes

  1. 14 months and I’m still too scared to try tomatoes… You are brave!

    Like

  2. Sarah
    Have you successfully reintroduced the food after AIP. And have you started eating tomatoes. How long did you follow AIP. Are you eating regular food and grains now

    Like

    • Hi Karthika, I’m eating more or less anything now, but I also have regular flares. It’s difficult as I have a demanding job and I find it hard to be disciplined when it comes to meals – I just grab and go – so I need to redo the 60 days AIP and go back to the beginning. It DID work, but it’s just as important to stay disciplined afterwards. I never did find my ‘trigger’ but I suspect the most important lesson I learned was ‘less crap in, less crap out…’.

      Like

Leave a Reply

